Jesus is Annoying

ImageJesus is annoying.  I am not talking about the “4-year old kicking the back of the seat in the car” annoying.  Nor am I talking about the “loud cell phone talker in public” annoying.  I am not even talking about the “guy who knows everything” annoying.  Jesus has His own type of annoying.  I call it “truth-telling” annoying.  Jesus speaks truth whether we want to hear it or not.  And that, my friends, is sometimes annoying.

I think that the attribute of being annoying says much more about those that are being annoyed.  My wife likes to give a lot of details in here stories and explanations.  It is a great thing about her because she wants me to fully understand what took place as if I were there.  It annoys me.  It annoys me because I am not a patient person.  Nor am I detail focused.  The annoyance says much more about me than it does her.  The annoyance indicates a discomfort that I have…not her.

Scripture tells us that Jesus said that our heart will be where our treasure is.  Every day this proves to be true.  Annoying.  Jesus said that it is better for us to forgive and love our enemies rather than hate them and seek revenge.  Annoying.  Jesus said that we mustforsake all others if we are to be true disciples.  Annoying.  Jesus said that we must love others as He has sacrificially loved us.  Annoying.  They are all annoying because they make us uncomfortable.  They tell us that we should act differently than we tend to act. So…we become annoyed…saying much more about ourselves than Christ.

This Sunday, at Newburgh UMC, I am preaching on the one thing that Jesus says to a woman in Scripture that always hits me like a ton of bricks.  And I find it highly annoying because every time I read it I realize that He is speaking directly to me and revealing an issue I struggle with daily.

As Jesus was visiting with Mary and Martha, Martha was upset that Mary was not helping with all the preparations for the meal and, instead, just hanging out with Jesus.  When Martha finally says something to Jesus (boldly), Jesus responds with this:

Martha, Martha…you are worried and upset about many things. (Luke 10:41)

I’m just going to stop right there and ask you…do you find yourself in that position?  Can you just slap your name into the place of Martha’s?  I know I can.  In fact…it reverberates in my head over and over.  “Tony, Tony…you are worried and upset about many things.”

It is very annoying…because He is right.  I am worried and upset about many things.  We live in a world where we are inundated with things to be worried about.  From finances to relationships to work to family to whatever else you have going on…there is a lot to beworried and upset about.

So, as we head into this weekend, what are you worried and upset about that may be distracting you from where your focus really needs to be?

If you are able to join us at Newburgh UMC on Sunday morning at one of our 3 worship services (8:00, 9:30, & 11:00am), I would like to personally invite you to join us for this very important talk.  If you can’t make it…that is okay…you can listen to themessage online at www.newburghumc.orgearly next week.  Need directions?  Click here.

2 thoughts on “Jesus is Annoying

Leave a Reply

