Was Bill Nye Created or Evolved?

ImageLast night one of my childhood heroes, Bill Nye the Science Guy, entered into a debate with Ken Ham, head of the Creation Museum.  This was a public debate that simply continues what has been a long-running debate between Creationists and Evolutionists…and in case you were wondering…no, this debate did not solve the problem.

As I watched the debate, I quickly realized that neither of these individuals truly represent the majority of the population.  I believe most of us fall somewhere in the middle.  I know I do.  In fact, I fall into this segment of the population that believes that, while this is an important question to wrestle with, what you believe about evolution is not really the question at hand.  Allow me to explain.

The Creation vs Evolution debate has raged on for years.  Each side trying to convince the world as to how and why we exist.  When we look back into the past, where do we find our origin?  How have we become what we have become?  Very important questions.  But, like many things, I think we get hung up on some nonessential details in the argument.  We spend a great amount of time discussing how we have evolved from one thing to the next.  We talk at length about whether the Biblical flood could have actually happened.  We debate ad nauseum about how long the earth has actually been here.  Great and fun questions to ponder but I don’t think it is what most of us really want to know.  We want to know…why are we here?  And…is there a Creator or not?

Answering the questions of the age of the planet, whether the flood ever happened in a literal fashion, and how I may have evolved from a monkey (even though my wife could argue convincingly that I have not evolved much past a monkey) will not answer the questions people truly seek.

I can get behind evolution.  I don’t personally believe in the evolutionary theory that Bill Nye may have been professing, but I would also not take the time to argue with him about it (partially because he is much more intelligent than I am).  If you want to believe that everything we see around us has evolved over millions of years (possibly billions) since the Big Bang happened…that is fine.  I won’t argue with you.  I won’t argue with you because I don’t think we are all that far apart.

The beginning of the Big Bang Theory can be summarized as follows:

According to the standard theory, our universe sprang into existence as “singularity” around 13.7 billion years ago. What is a “singularity” and where does it come from? Well, to be honest, we don’t know for sure. Singularities are zones which defy our current understanding of physics. They are thought to exist at the core of “black holes.” Black holes are areas of intense gravitational pressure. The pressure is thought to be so intense that finite matter is actually squished into infinite density (a mathematical concept which truly boggles the mind). These zones of infinite density are called “singularities.” Our universe is thought to have begun as an infinitesimally small, infinitely hot, infinitely dense, something – a singularity. Where did it come from? We don’t know. Why did it appear? We don’t know.  –  http://www.big-bang-theory.com

So, to risk over-simplifying things by putting them in my own words, everything started as a singularity which is an immeasurable mass. A singularity, by it’s very description, was basically nothingness.  I mean, my goodness, they are the at the core of black holes.

It sounds strangely familiar to another theory found in the Christian faith.  When we talk about the Creation of all things, we believe that God created ex nihilo.  Ex nihilo is a Latin phrase that means “out of nothing”.  So…to simplify…we believe that God created out of nothing.  Sounds somewhat like a singularity doesn’t it?  The difference really is in the semantics of “nothing” and “infinitesimally small”.  Not all that far from one another.

I am not a scientist, nor do I pretend to know the ins and outs of the Big Bang Theory.  You can believe in evolution as much as you want.  There is much science to support that.  It won’t bother me at all.  Let’s just agree that something supernatural…maybe God…started it all.  You believe in the Big Bang?  Great…I can walk that journey with you.  Let’s just agree that God flipped the switch and let’s go from there.

Leave a Reply

