Who Do You Love?

Sometimes I am blown away by the words of wisdom that come from children.  Many times I am convinced that they are wiser than many of us.  Maybe that is because their minds and hearts have not been contaminated by cynicism and negativity.

This morning, Canaan (3yr) came into the kitchen while I was preparing breakfast and proudly announced, “Daddy, I love all of you.”  Yes…in case you were wondering…they are the best words to wake up to.  But, it gets better.  It was not 2 seconds after that great statement that Canaan followed it up with his words of wisdom:  “And I love myself!”

This is not the first time he has said this.  In fact, he says it all the time.  The other day he made his pronouncement and then proceeded to ask me if I loved myself.  It was a great question.  A question that we should all probably think about.

Do we really love ourselves?  Do you cherish the fact that God created you just the way you are?  Can you look in the mirror and say with complete sincerity:  “I love myself”?  I fear that most people would not be able to answer that question in the affirmative.  I fear that as we have grown up…we have forgotten to love ourselves.

I am curious though.  As you think about how much you truly love who you are…what comes to mind?  What does loving one’s self look like?  How important is it to love yourself?  How does it affect your love for others?

 

Leave a Reply

