Operation Christmas Child

Today in Bible Club…all across Center Grove…children packed shoeboxes that will be delivered to kids who are not as fortunate as we are.  It is a really cool thing to do.  As a leader of the North Grove Bible Club…I get to be a part of it.

It is awesome to know we are helping these kids that we have never met.  It is great to know that there will be a smile on their face because of what we did today.  But the best part of it all…is the joy that the kids had this morning.

They were excited to fill those boxes.  They were filled with joy knowing that what they did would impact a child in need.  We all gathered around the boxes at the end of the morning to pray over them.  As if that wasn’t powerful enough…a few kids…as they walked past me to go get their stuff and continue their day said, “that was a lot of fun.”

I was excited to hear that…and I was a little brokenhearted to hear it.  I think, ultimately, I was humbled.  These kids (K-5th) found joy in helping unknown people.  They experienced joy in their generosity.

I have to say…somewhere along the line…I think we lose that.  I think as adults, we struggle to have that same joy.  Maybe we have become jaded.  Maybe we are cynical.  Maybe we just lost a passion…a heart…or empathy.  I don’t know what it is but I do know that as adults, we could do better.

We could help more…and we could learn to find the joy in it all.

For me…I find the joy in helping others by remembering a simple statement from Jesus:

Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me. (Matt 25:40)

 

Leave a Reply

