My family is on vacation right now over the Fourth of July.  We celebrated well with my wife’s side of the family.  One of the fun things that we did (some of the guys anyway) was to go out and shoot some semi-automatic assault rifles.  These are the same guns that our amazing military guys and gals carry. Very simply, it gave me a new appreciation for what our troops do for us.  Can I shoot one?  Sure.  Can I hit the bullseye?  Well…yes (honestly…about 1:30).  Can I run around in full gear, shooting on the run?  Doubtful (at least with accuracy). It was a hot day…shooting large weapons…and we were in a controlled environment. Very simply, shooting those guns gave me a new appreciation for a group of people I already respect greatly.

So…if you are a part of our armed services:  Thank you.  Thank you for doing what you do to give my family the freedom that we have.  Thank you.

Leave a Reply

