Who Impresses You More?

I love to go to the gym.  Okay…that is a lie.  I like to go to the gym.  Okay…that is a lie as well.  I like how I feel after I have gone to the gym.  Okay…that one is true.  I do make it a point to go to the gym every day and get my workout on.  I don’t exactly have an overpowering drive to do so.  Instead, it is a battle of willpower every single day to get up and go work out.

I go to a gym where there are a lot of…how do I say…muscularly dominated individuals who spend a lot of time in the gym and have for many years to reach the point in which their forearms are the size of my thigh.  While they work out and watch themselves in the mirror, staring at their biceps upon each strenuous curl…I am not impressed.  Don’t get me wrong.  I am impressed by the success they have had.  But…the fact that they are doing what they are doing…not that impressed.  I am impressed by a different group.

I am impressed by the overweight, out-of-shape, and out-of-breath individuals who strap on their sweatbands and work their tail off to regain their health.  The body-builders don’t impress me because going to the gym comes easy to them.  It is their thing.  The ones who are trying to shed 100 pounds…they impress me because they are stepping out of their comfort zone to make a radical positive change in their life.

Many of us could learn something from them about our approach to our relationship with Christ.  Sure we can go to church on Sunday morning…post a couple Godly statements on our Facebook account…and consider ourselves good.  But…that all comes pretty easy for us.  What is more difficult is stepping out of our comfort zone and being a part of a team…joining a ministry…or making a commitment to be a part of something that is about helping other people.

This is why I am so proud of our Launch Team members at The Grove.  These awesome people have stepped out of their comfort zone and became a part of something beyond themselves…and their lives are changing in great ways.  If you are connected with The Grove…are you ready to step out of your comfort zone to better yourself and enter into something bigger than yourself?  If you are not connected to The Grove…are you ready to take that step at your church…or any church?

Leave a Reply

