Welcome Home!

Over the past weekend, my wife and kids were out of town.  That leaves me at home alone eating frozen pizza and canned soup.  Not because my wife doesn’t make sure there is stuff here…because she does.  I am just lazy about cooking.  I don’t like to do it.

After a day or two…I begin to miss them like crazy!  I miss holding my wife.  I miss playing with my kids.  Most of all, I just miss having them here.  Unfortunately, when they arrived home, I was gone.  I had meetings and things to do.  It was not until after 8:00pm that I arrived home.

The kids were ready for bed sitting on the couch with mom awaiting my arrival.  As I came through the back door I wondered what the greeting would be like.  I mean, my kids just spent 3 days at Nana and Papaw’s house…so did they even miss me at all?

I guess there is a part of you that hopes they did.  You hope that they have been sitting at home waiting for me to get home so they could give me a huge hug.  That is what we want right?  I think that is what we all want.  We just want to know that we are important.

Well…I walked into the kitchen and looked in the living room.  There they sat with big smiles on their faces.  Canaan and Maggie scurried off of Melissa’s lap as fast as they could and ran to give me hugs.  Canaan was pushing Maggie away because he wanted daddy all to himself.  We hugged and sat on the kitchen floor together for 5 minutes or so.  Melissa even came over and greeted me with a hug and kiss.  And…there we sat…all on the kitchen floor…just loving on each other.

For the rest of the evening, Canaan was attached to my leg and I felt like I was the most important person in the world.  It was great!

Ultimately, we all want to be greeted that way.  We want to know that we matter.  We want to know that when we are not together…someone misses us.  And…I think if we are honest with ourselves, we hope the same thing about God.

We hope that we are important enough to God that He will run to greet us when we arrive.  That He will hug us and express His love for us right where we are.

The good news is that He will.  Every time I experience the welcome from my family, I think about the Prodigal Son and how Jesus used that story to describe how we are welcomed into the household of The Father.

But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him. – Luke 15:20

Take some time and go read Luke 15.  How does it relate to you?  Have you been welcomed by the Father like that?

Leave a Reply

