The Importance of Vacation

Jesus is like a superhero.  At least that is what we tend to think of Him.  He ran around healing people, forgiving sins, and restoring people.  We think about all that Jesus did for others…that we often fail to realize what He did for Himself.  Jesus took breaks.

Often Jesus would steal away with His core 12 to get some quality time with them…or He would sneak off by Himself to get some quality alone time with the Father.  In the Gospel of Matthew we see Jesus taking time out of His busy schedule to be alone.

Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd.  After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone, and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it. – Matthew 14:22-24.

It was shortly after this that Jesus did His cool trick of walking on water…and even got Peter to do it for a few steps.  Before this time alone, Jesus just fed 5,000 people out of a very small amount of food.  Wedged in between two of the most awesome miracles of Jesus is this little tidbit of information that Jesus took a break.  Jesus took a vacation.

I think this is a lesson that we must all heed.  We have to take breaks.  I know it is hard sometimes.  It is extremely difficult for me.  I love my job and I hate leaving home.  Therefore, leaving for vacation is a chore for me.  However, the time I had with family this past week on our vacation was priceless.  And now that I am home and refreshed…I can do my job even better than before.  I think it was probably the same with Jesus.  I think Jesus would have gotten burned out if He did not take breaks to recharge His batteries and stay connected with the Father.

Think about it a bit.  Are you taking the breaks that you need in order to be the person that God has called you to be?  Or, are you burning the proverbial candle at both ends?

Leave a Reply

