Grieving For a Dead Terrorist

As I am sure you know…last night it was announced that Osama bin Laden is dead.  After a 10 year man-hunt…US special forces finally brought down the figure-head of terrorism and the man who was responsible for the September 11, 2001 attacks on US soil.

As I heard the news…I was glad to know that his reign of terror was over.  However, as I continued to watch the reactions on television, and hear the news reporters…I became saddened.

Even today, you can turn on your television set and see masses of people celebrating the death of this man.  Was he a man of evil?  Yes.  Did he need to be stopped?  Yes.  Do the brave men and women who followed through with their orders to accomplish this deserve our support and gratitude?  Absolutely.  Is it right that we dance and celebrate in the streets because this man is dead?  No.

When I think about this man…I cannot help but think about him as a lost soul.  A man who never knew the saving grace and all-encompassing love of Jesus Christ.  I think about the tears of Christ as He grieves for a man who Christ was diligently pursuing.  I think about a man who denied Christ, rejected His Truth, and lived a life without the Savior.  As a Christian, my heart breaks for this man.

We are told in Matthew 5:44 to “Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.”  This does not sound like the recommendation of a man who would encourage dancing upon your enemies grave.  This sounds like a man who would encourage you to, at the very least, hold your emotions in check and handle the news like a dignified and classy people.  Each time I see a crowd dancing and celebrating the death of this man…I cannot help but remember the times we witnessed terrorists dancing in celebration over the deaths of US military personnel.  I was outraged when I saw those things.  And…I am outraged now at the sight of my fellow citizens doing the same thing.

I guess in the end…I am glad I am irritated at this sort of reaction.  There was a time in my life when I would have danced and celebrated that this horrible man was dead.  But, between then and now…I entered into a relationship with Christ.  He has changed me.  He has molded me.  Now, while I am grateful that this man is no longer at the helm of terrorism…I grieve for bin Laden’s soul.  I simply wish things turned out differently.  I wish he had accepted Christ and allowed Christ to transform his life.  I know…you are thinking that that would be impossible.  But…He did it to me…

“Do not rejoice when your enemies fall, and do not let your heart be glad when they stumble, or else the Lord will see it and be displeased…” Proverbs 24:17-18

2 thoughts on “Grieving For a Dead Terrorist

  1. It does suck that an unrepentant heart died (i don’t know entirely, only God knows but I never did see him turn himself in for his actions), but I do appreciate the efforts of the government to uphold justice. And that he does not have the ability to bring more people to death.
    Genesis 9:6

    I think it’s easy to love your enemies after they’re dead. You’re right, we should love our enemies, Stephen showed it when he prayed for Saul and those who would stone him. However, I don’t think the early Christians would be saddened if Saul & accusers were to fall to death right then and there. They’d be relieved! Not that we should rejoice when our enemies die, but that we would be thankful that justice was done.

    And remember, the terrorist weren’t only rejoicing over military personnel, but over the deaths of innocent people. Even today they kill innocent people without remorse. That’s not an excuse to be hating terrorist or wish that’d they die. But it is a stark comparison in reaction. I don’t think when you see everyone in the streets celebrating that they’re all celebrating death, but some are celebrating that justice prevailed and that it has come to an end.

Leave a Reply

