My NEW Life Verse!

I just returned from Velocity 2011 in Atlanta Georgia this week.  It was a great time in which I learned a lot, made some new friends, and had some fun in the process.  But, most importantly, my heart and soul were carved up and left broken on the floor.

I am not going to go into detail…but let’s just say that I realized some brokenness in my own life that MUST be corrected.  It was not a behavior or an attitude.  It was the state of my heart and the things that drive me.

I vowed then and there, that I would live differently.  I vowed that I would make it my #1 priority to seek Him first.  I vowed that I will no longer sacrifice the Greatest Commandment (Love God) for the Great Commission (make disciples).

This morning I read a random story in Scripture.  Honestly, I just opened up my YouVersion app on my phone, closed my eyes, and picked a passage by tapping a random spot on the screen.

The story was about this guy named Jotham.  This is his whole story in 2 Corinthians.  One chapter to tell us about this leader.  It is a short chapter, it is an uneventful chapter…but it is a powerful chapter.

Tucked away in the 9 verses of his life which tell of his buildings, his wars, his reign, and his ancestry, is a little nugget that we should all take to heart.

Jotham grew powerful because he walked steadfastly before the LORD his God.  (2 Chronicles 27:6)

It may not be much of a sentence…but it sure packs a punch.  You see…Jothan did not grow in power because he could speak to a crowd.  He did not grow in power because he could wield a sword.  He did not grow in power because he could design great forts.  He did not grow in power because he was the heir to the throne (he may have gotten power that way…but that is not why it GREW).

Jotham grew in power because he was connected to God.  His relationship with God was growing…so his power grew.  Too often we see our positions and power as a result of what we do.  But…the reality is…our power is a result of who God is and what God is doing.

I cannot plant this church on my own.  I cannot reach people outside of God.  I cannot grow in power without God.  Sure, I could create something that looks like power and strength.  But it would all be based on worldly things.  I want power that is Kingdom power.  And there is only one place I can get that.  I must walk steadfastly before the LORD my God.  I won’t get to take the credit…that will be His.  But…that is okay.

Here is my commitment to my church, those I reach, and…most importantly…God:

I will no longer seek success on my own merits.  Rather, I will seek God and His power, counting all things loss for the glory of God.

2 Chronicles 27:6 = new life verse for me.

Will you join me in this?  Make this your life verse.  Seek to walk with Him…and let Him make you powerful in His way.

One thought on “My NEW Life Verse!

Leave a Reply

