Tell Me About Myself

I have a bookmark that tells me about myself.  I never planned on having it…it just kinda happened.  But, now that I have it…it is possibly one of the coolest things I have received.  Not only did I get a cool bookmark that boosts my confidence each time I see it…but it reminds me of an important leadership lesson I learned:  Never underestimate the significance of the impressions you leave on your closest leaders.

I went into a meeting with some of the great leaders at Mt Etna.  I had a great plan to help them see their leadership aptitudes.  I asked them two questions.  (1)Which leader of Scripture do you most closely identify?  (2)Why are you a leader?

They weren’t big fans of the second question.  After they struggled through answering the questions…I posed a question to the rest of the team.  This time…everyone at the table had an opportunity to tell the person why they were a leader.  Every single time, while the individual was only able to come up with one or two reasons, the group came up with a list.

I wanted them all to see that even though they may not see themselves as leaders, others did.

I was all set to let the exercise retire until they forced me to answer the same questions.  I was not prepared to do such a thing!  Of course, it was only fair.  They weren’t prepared either.  I came up with a couple of reasons why I was a leader…but I was overwhelmed with the response of the group.  They spouted things off that I never would have thought of.  But for them…these were things that stood out to them and proved to them that I was a leader.

Every time I see that bookmark, I remember.  I remember my role.  I remember my leadership.  I remember the things about me that my leaders respect.  I remember that I am impacting the people around me in ways that I am not always aware of.

Don’t be afraid to hear the thoughts of your closest leaders.  They may bring insight that you could not have on your own.  Of course…it may not all be glowing reviews.  Then again…maybe glowing reviews are not always what we need to hear.

Leave a Reply

