Deep-Fried Gospel?

We have arrived home from our yearly family camping vacation.  I will be posting in the near future some insights from that time.  But first…I wanted to post about yesterday.  To conclude our vacation, I took my family to the Indiana State Fair.  We saw the world record hog (which I am still convinced was a cow in disguise), an 1106 pound pumpkin (which looked eerily similar to a large overweight man), and numerous other odd and unique things…including people.

However, the thing that grabbed our attention the most was the  fare at the fair.  We had lunch there…but it was difficult to find something that fit into our normal dietary options.

It seems to me that we will eat anything that is fried.  And apparently, that is what we are looking for as a society.  Large signs and banners mark the way to deep-fried pickles, deep-fried green beans, deep-fried twinkies, and deep-fried oreos.

We knew those would be there.  What we didn’t know is that there would be deep-fried Pepsi, deep-fried butter, and deep-fried peanut-butter and jelly sandwiches.  Really?  This is what we are eating?

For starters…I am not even sure I know how you deep-fry butter or Pepsi.  But…somewhere along the line… entrepreneurs discovered that people will buy anything as long as it is deep-fried.  I imagine that somewhere…at some point in Fair history…one of these interchanges took place:

Vendor: “Would you like to buy some butter?”
Customer: “No…I don’t think so.  Why would I eat butter?”
Vendor: “Would you eat it if I fried it?”
Customer: “Well…yeah…I think I would!”

Vendor: “Sir…how would you like a peanut-butter & jelly sandwich?”
Customer: “No thanks!  Why would I buy a PB&J at the fair?”
Vendor: “I’ll fry it for you.”
Customer: “Well…that sounds fantastic!”

Apparently…if you want to create a new business…just take a food that no one will want to buy and deep-fry it.  You will be well on your way to helping all of us become more unhealthy and obese.

I believe the Church has done this for years.  We have taken something that many people don’t want in this craziness we call life…and we deep-fry it.  We change it up to make it more appetizing to our palates to draw people in.  I think this step is important and must happen.  The problem is…when we deep-fry the Gospel…we take something that is meant to be spiritually healthy and make it unhealthy.

We hold back in preaching the Truth of the necessity of Christ…and open the doors to a pluralistic acceptance of all things.  We stop encouraging others to enter into covenant relationships…and make Christianity something that we do on our own.  We stop proclaiming that Jesus offers forgiveness of sins to those who profess His name…and begin believing that He does not desire us to change.

We must as a Church find new ways to spread the Gospel message.  We must find new ways of making our “fare” appealing to the general public.  We must draw people in.  BUT…we MUST find a way to do this without caving into the simplicity of a society that deep-fries everything, zapping the nutritional value from what is offered.

What do  you think?  Agree?  Disagree?

Leave a Reply

