What Daddy Does

Maggie runs up to me between services on Sunday and hands me a card.  She was so excited to give her daddy a card on Father’s Day.  I opened it up and it had a little recording of her saying, “Your the best.  I love you daddy!”  It makes your heart melt you know.  But…that was not the greatest gift she gave me on Father’s Day.

I don’t typically focus on holidays like Mother’s Day of Father’s Day during our worship services.  There is nothing wrong with doing so…I just don’t.  However, I do like to start with a joke or two about the holiday.  This year, however, I found online a list of questions to ask a child about their dad.  The idea is for a mom to ask the kid questions that they would answer as a part of a gift to dad.  I, however, decided that I would ask Maggie these questions and share them with the congregation on Sunday.  Here are the questions with her answers.  Keep in mind…Maggie is 2 years old.

1. What is something dad always says to you?  Goodness

2. What makes dad happy?  Me

3. What makes dad sad?  Me

4. How old is your dad?  2

4. How tall is your dad?  6 months

5. What is your dad’s favorite thing to do?  Play

6. How are you and your dad the same? We fish

7. How do you know your dad loves you?  Hugs

8. What does your dad do well?  Church

9. Where does your dad work?  Church

10. Who does your dad work for?  Jesus

You know…you could ask a lot of people that last question.  You would get responses like the Bishop, the District Superintendent, the Church, the church, SPRC, himself, etc.  But my little girl hit the nail on the head.  I work for Jesus.

Interestingly enough, it is easy to forget that amazing little fact.  It is quite simple to get wrapped up in all the work and all the planning and all the…well…people…that we overlook the reason we do ministry in the first place.

It really is that simple.  I work for Jesus.  Everything I do…everything I preach…everything I teach…is meant to serve Jesus.  But…the reality is that it really has very little to do  with the fact that I carry with me the title of “Pastor”.  It has everything to do with the fact that I am a child of God.

We are all called to “work for” Jesus as adopted children of the living God.  The problem is that so many of us…pastors included…have forgotten that.  Instead we work for the Church or the church.  We work for ourselves or the Bishop.  We work for a committee or the nameless and faceless crowds that judge us.

Maybe we all need a two year old to remind us every once in a while that we work for Jesus.  That is the greatest gift my little Princess gave me on Father’s Day.  She gave me a reality check when she said, “My daddy works for Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

